Skip to content

1,000+ Hits and a Fantastic Summer

September 8, 2010

This week my blog exceeded 1,000 hits! Of course I know many blogs exceed that number in a day, but for a blog by little old me rambling about my life, I’m pretty excited about that milestone.

I’m leaving Martha’s Vineyard on Friday and going home to face the real world. It’s a strange concept for me, this whole not having a plan thing. I can’t think of a single moment in my life when I didn’t know what I would be doing next. Since I fled to my island bubble a week after graduation, the “real world” shock the rest of the 2010 graduates have overcome is just starting to sink in for me. This has been the best summer of my life, with the exception of being in elementary school and frolicking around all day covering myself in dirt and whatever else I did back then. I can’t thank my grandparents enough for use of the Little Pink House, or properly describe how badly I’d like to stay here stuck in summer eternally. But Connecticut’s a pretty nice place too. I haven’t experienced the fall there for more than a couple days for the past four years. I’m excited about the foliage, but nervous I’ll lose my mind in the sleepiest town in the world.

Time to set the mood and channel my high school emo days with a little Dashboard Confessional “So Long, So Long.” The lyrics are emoliciously depressing and are fitting to leaving my island home.

I was certain that the season could be held between my arms
Well just as summer’s hold is fleeting
I was here but now I’m gone.

Thanks for listening! I swear I’ll never spring Dashboard on any of you again…

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

